jump to navigation

2012 ONE WORD 2nd January, 2012

Posted by Scotty in Calling, Challenges, Heart.
trackback

I’m not one for doing New Year’s Resolutions.  I tend to choose things all through the year that I want to work on rather than lumping them all at the start of the year. Regularly as I encounter things in Scripture or traits I see in others that I want to emulate I journal about it and seek to incorporate it into my life.

In my first year at Multnomah, we were having a special worship time with all the people from our year and Prof. Carley Wecks handed everyone a little square of paper and asked us to think through the fruit of the Spirit (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control) and to pick one that we would choose to pursue growth in for that semester. I liked that concept and have done a similar thing at various points over the last 6 years.

Well, I recently read something (I can’t remember where or I’d direct you to it) that had a similar (simple) approach to New Year’s Resolutions…  Pick ONE WORD that summarises how you want to grow/change this year.  I like that idea and so… my ONE WORD… for 2012 is:

DISCIPLINE

I felt like this last year I really sagged in this area compared to years past.  With everything from time-keeping to blogging to exercise to spiritual disciplines… I was a bit flabby.  So… this year I’m going to praying for the Grace to be better disciplined again, and will invest my energy in building good habits back into my life.  Feel free to check up on me.

What is your ONE WORD for 2012?

Comments»

1. Sharon O - 2nd January, 2012

Oh you have just hit a nerve with me, God has been showing me my need for a word for the year again. Two years ago the word was GRIEF as we had many deep things going on, last years word was REST which was interesting considering the year we actually had. I need to pray about the new word. Will you pray with me? take care

2. 2013 ONE WORD « Work in Progress - 1st January, 2013

[…] Resolutions, I decided to pick one word that I would ask God to cultivate in me for the year (see my 2012 word and explanation here).  I liked the simplicity and the focus on it so I decided to do the same thing this year.  And […]


Leave a comment