jump to navigation

South America viii 20th April, 2012

Posted by Scotty in Travel.
trackback

So, our time in Ecuador has come to a close.

Today, we hung out with a couple of missionaries here in Quito and now we’re back at the guesthouse resting and packing before we take off at 5am tomorrow morning.  Its fun to be able to chat and sightsee at the same time, so our host, Carlos took us to Mitad del Mundo, the middle of the World… where I got to experience my first time ever at the Equator.

Then we took a trip on the Teleferico (the cable car) here in Quito, that starts about 2,950m (9,700ft) elevation and climbs to around 4,100m (13,500ft).  You get quite a view of the city here from up top, although, we didn’t get a clear view because we rode up into a thunderstorm.  It’s amazing to be up that high watching the lightning over the city (and then we got pelted with hail stones!)

In the morning we fly back to Buenos Aires and then from there we begin the 36hr journey back to Glasgow.  This trip has been great.  Health-wise, I’ve felt so good being in the sun on the days it was out… and my energy level has been great.  I feel pretty tired today, but then so does Stuart and so I guess it’s normal!  (And as you can see from the pics!  I HAVE HAIR!!!!!  Now I need to do something crazy with it seeing as it’s back.  A crazy-hair celebration)

God is so good.  This trip has been incredible in many ways.  My mind, heart and soul have had lots to think about and my journal is full of thoughts from the time here.  Can’t wait to see how God uses it!

 

Comments»

1. Ruth Grant - 21st April, 2012

What a fantastic trip you have had .God is so good. I bet you are planning how and when you can return! Dani has just left central America. She fell in love with Honduras and is hoping to return to work at a ministry called Zion’s Gate-working with street kids. I don’t think you will be the same after your trip. Who knows the wonderful things God ahs planned for you. take care! love Ruthx

2. Sue Bastiani - 23rd April, 2012

What an adventure! So glad you mentioned how good you are feeling! Bet you misss your honey bunnies…:) Safe journey you guys…


Leave a comment