jump to navigation

God heals! 1st May, 2012

Posted by Scotty in Blessings, Cancer, Unmistakeable Hand of God.
trackback


A lot can happen in 6 months.  It was 6 months ago that I visited the doctor and admitted to hospital.  Can you believe it?!  How can half a year have just “disappeared”.  Yet, how can all that’s happened have taken only 6 months?!  (Sometimes I wonder if there’s ever a day in life when you don’t experience the that-took-forever and that-feels-like-only-yesterday all in the same breath!)

In 6 months I went from feeling healthy to diagnosed with cancer to chemotherapy to an all clear to half-way-around-the-world serving God to Glasgow.  What a ride?!

What I want to scream from the rooftops is:

I FEEL AMAZING!!!

The South America trip came at just the right point!  The few days leading up to the trip I kept thinking “Can I do this?  Do I have enough energy or will this trip be too much?”  While I felt it was good and I was prepared for it I wasn’t sure how all the post-chemo fatigue and things might affect me.

While on the trip I had my days where I felt worn out and I kept asking myself “Am I tired from travelling?  Am I tired from a busy schedule?  Am I tired from doing lots of ministering?  or is this cancer-tired?”  But then I’d look over at Stuart who’d make some comment about being exhausted and that made me feel better!  My tiredness was NORMAL.

Now that I’m back… I feel so good.  And there are a number of contributors to that.

  • I feel great.  The tiredness has gone.  My energy level and physical/emotional capacity seems restored to normal (though with a greater drive to do more than I had before.  You know what also helps with feeling good?…
  • I look good.  (In the not big-headed way!)  My hair is back and the South American sun put colour back in my cheeks.  (On the downside, my 3-4 month without having to shave is over.)  It’s nice to look in the mirror and look normal again. I think I’m going to do something crazy to my hair to celebrate!
  • I’m eager.  I’ve been out of the game for 6 months?!  While I’ve continued doing ministry it’s been on a limited capacity.  I’ve gone through seasons of doing more, and some seasons of doing more than my body could handle.  Being in the zone dealing with recovery meant I hadn’t really noticed the length of time I’d been merely “surviving” with work, etc.  So I arrived back from the trip itching to get back in the game!
  • Im excited. It’s good to get out of context and into other ministry environments.  Watching the various ministries and hearing people’s hearts as they shared their vision helped clarify my own.  I kept thinking about ministry here and what we could change or do better and after an afternoon talking through it with Brian and hearing similar thoughts from him, I’m more excited about ministry than I have been in a long time!

This is a fun season.  It’s nice to wake up in the morning and feel completely free of cancer and the lingering effects of chemo.  It’s amazing to lie in bed and feel my daughter kicking!  It’s invigorating to know that what’s happening in Re:Hope is just the beginning, and to be a part of a vision that is much bigger than any of us… so big that it can only work if God is moving ahead of us and through us.

God puts us on the Earth for His glory.  We each have a unique role that He has for us that is, hands down, the most fulfilling thing we’ll ever experience.  He has put me here to train and equip His church.  And nothing gives me more joy than watching people experience the peace satisfaction joy  wholeness thrill that comes from doing exactly what God made them to do.

It’s been a ride!  I’m not trying to rub it in people’s faces.

Life is not perfect… but I serve a God who is!  Life throws us curveballs… but God wraps His arms around us and helps us hit it out the park!  We can encounter the worst situations and feel like we don’t have what it takes… don’t just “survive”, but allow God to fill you and experience peace and joy as He shows His glory in the midst of it.

I’m a walking talking demonstration of the Truth that God heals!  Medicine can help heal us physically.  Psychology can help heal us mentally.  Counselling can help heal us emotionally.  But only Jesus can do it all AND MORE!  And I’m praying that He’ll do that very thing for several people I know who are experiencing major hardship right now.  And I believe He will!!!!

>And so I testify…

I feel amazing….

AND…

To Him be the glory!

Comments»

1. Sharon O - 1st May, 2012

There is that GLORY word again…YES to God be the Glory great things he has done…

2. Ruth Grant - 1st May, 2012

To God be the GLORY!! amen ! So happy reading this blog!! I really feel your joy as I read it and am praying MANY blessings on you and your wee family and your church!! God is so great!!!


Leave a Reply

