jump to navigation

Just when you think it’s all over: Day 58 22nd January, 2012

Posted by Scotty in Cancer.
trackback

*sigh*

I woke up this morning and didn’t feel great. I felt that am-I-going-to-be-sick? Feeling and so headed toward the bathroom. I stood there not quite sure what I was feeling and then… BARF!

I got really hot and sweaty so took my temperature… 38.3c. All through chemo I’ve been told if my temperature hits 38c phone the ward. So I did. The nurse asked a few questions, called the doc and phoned me back…

you need to go to a&e (translation: ER) and get blood tests done

*sigh*

Then I did something a bit stupid. I waited and took my temperature again… It had dropped back down to 37.7c so I decided I wouldn’t bother with a&e so went back to bed.

I woke about 12.30 in a sweat again so checked my temp… 38.3c. “I guess I should head to a&e”

Then I got a phone call from Mon after church. She’d spoken to a couple of doctors at church who both said I HAD to get to a&e. So much so that one of them drive Mon home and picked me up and took me to a&e.

What’s the problem? My white blood cells. Each time I’ve had chemo my white blood cells have tanked. They say to phone in if your temperature is over 38 because if your temp is thy high it’s an indication that my body is struggling to fight something.

So I arrow at a&e about 1pm. I explained my situation and they quickly put me in a wee isolated room to ensure I was away from any bugs.

They took my blood and urine sample…. Sent me for a chest X-ray… And starting pumping me with antibiotics to help fight whatever my body is trying to fight.

Annoyingly though something wasn’t quite working with the patient transport and I lay there for 5 hrs waiting to get driven over to the Beatson. Some heated phonecalls were made and eventually an ambulance came to get me!!!

So now I’m at the Beatson after a long day at a&e. They’ve examined me both places and everything seems “normal”. Hopefully the antibiotics will do their job and I’ll get home soon. (although they may have to keep me in for a couple of days).

It was weird being back at a&e. It was Halloween that I spent the day there and this whole crazy journey began.

HOPEFULLY this is the last of it. I’ve been so frustrated today having to come back in for treatment. But… He is still good… And He is still on the throne!

To Him be the glory!!!!

Comments»

1. Sharon O - 22nd January, 2012

Breathe in and breathe out and know that God is with you along with many prayers. May He give you peace.

2. Kathy Strickland - 23rd January, 2012

Hang in there Scotty…Hopefully this will pass soon. Praying for you.

livehills - 23rd January, 2012

Our Heavenly Father, I pray together with Scottie and all his friends that you would give to Scottie great strength from great portions of the Holy Spirit to work great might to do what all the great men of faith listed in the Hebrews 11 did who through faith conquered kingdoms, administered justice, and gained what was promised; who shut the mouths of lions, quenched the fury of the flames, and escaped the edge of the sword; whose weakness was turned to strength; and who became powerful in battle and routed foreign armies (in the blood). Women received back their dead, raised to life again. Others were tortured and refused to be released, so that they might gain a better resurrection. And now Lord we ask that you keep Scottie trusting you and may you hold him in the palm of your crimson lined hands.

3. Sue Swihart Bastiani - 23rd January, 2012

We always hope for the best so don’t feel stupid…just ignorant…hahhaa Sorry, couldn’t help myself.. Scott, sooo glad you know the Lord and are resting in Him…He has you right where He wants you, I’m sure…a bit uncomfortable but sometimes I wonder if I would ever pray if everything was going great all the time…my old sinful nature…gah! God loves you soooo much and so do we…so grateful for those of you standing in the gap so that others may know Him and have eternal life. Thank you guys..Get well SOON, okay? 🙂 <3<3<3

4. Joseph Lange - 23rd January, 2012

Hard to read this being so far away from you, man. I really love you and I’ll continue to keep you in my prayers. The creator of heaven and earth is actively involved in your life. Jesus Christ was a man of sorrows and is familiar with all of griefs.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4

5. Ruth Grant - 23rd January, 2012

Hope everything is ok today!
Thankyou for sharing your journey with everyone.
God WILL get the glory in all of this. Remember Elijah- just after his greatest triumph- the very next day- he was doubting so much he ran away! But God was faithful- and He IS faithful today!
Take heart Scott ! God has blessed you with a baby! Keep your eyes fixed on Jesus! He will sustain you! xxx


Leave a Reply

