jump to navigation

YAY! No more Jags: Day 57 21st January, 2012

Posted by Scotty in Cancer.
trackback

FINALLY! We’re done. NO MORE INJECTIONS! (I hope?!) I had my last G-CSF injection this afternoon. And… I’m feeling it. The pain is nowhere near as immobilising as the last time, but I’m certainly feeling a major amount of discomfort in my lower back and hips. I’ve taken paracetamol and am debating whether to grab the codeine!

I did something today that I’ve not done in a LONG time… I made my to do list and got through almost everything on it. It’s a nice “normal” feeling to get some goals accomplished. I took down a sign at church, installed the new wireless printer, updated the app, sent a few emails… all-in-all a feel-good day.

I’ve been asked by the staff at the hospital to take part in a 6-week “RESTART” program that will start sometime in February. It’s a Research Project looking at how to effectively rehabilitate testicular cancer patients and so I’ve told them I’m happy to be involved. They’re looking at the effect of exercise and nutrition on the recovery time of patients, as well as seminars geared towards things like post-cancer life insurance, and how to effectively start back at work. I like being able to help out and give feedback on these sorts of things and I’m sure the information will be really helpful.

It’s just nice to be thinking about getting back to work. My plan is to start back officially at the end of the month with about 15-20hrs. If that tires me out too much I’ll step it back a bit. If I do ok with that then I’ll see about increasing that so that I’m closer to my usual 40 by the end of February. Obviously I don’t want to push myself and end up slowing my recovery. So I’ll be quick to duck out of things if I feel that my body isn’t coping.

Another few days of staying at home seeing as my immune system is so low, but I’m REALLY looking forward to getting back out into the real world. I miss my favourite coffee shop… Rudi’s… and all the awesome staff there! It’ll just be nice to have some “normal” again.

The chemo is over. The medicine is finished. The recovery begins!

To Him be the glory!!!!

Comments»

1. rugiada - 21st January, 2012

yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeey! 🙂

2. Sharon O - 21st January, 2012

Yep he gets the GLORY… so glad your journey is over at least at this point in time.

3. Allan Mounce - 22nd January, 2012

The studies are usually pretty good as it gives you a fresh perspective on what you’ve been through. I’ll never forget the first time i saw a travel insurance quote following treatment, a trip i’d made & insured myself for the year before went from £16 to £3000 for the cheapest quote (with one high street bank quoting me £20,000!). But i’ve also found some fun & games when it comes to cold callers offering me life insurance – yep, i’m a very twisted man, but i find it funny to hear them squirm when i tell them of my adventures!

As for normal – i can’t help you there, i was never normal to start with, but i’ve recovered a good 99% of the crazy!

4. Kathy Strickland - 22nd January, 2012

Scotty I am very happy that you have finished with your treatments and the next chapter begins now. You are right our Heavenly Father does get all the glory, but I must say that you went through the test strong, and you finished strong. Thank you for sharing your experiences with all of us, and allowing us to keep you in our daily prayers. I am so excited for you and Monica to become parents…another wonderful gift.

God is so good, all of the time.

Congratulations to you Scotty…I will continue to pray for a speedy recovery.

Kathy Strickland

5. Mike - 22nd January, 2012

Mate, we love ya & praying so often
~all ya mates in Communitas.

6. Nicola Harvey - 22nd January, 2012

I concur with all of the above …with bells on!!! Never thought of things like life insurance etc…my goodness……but great to know ALL things are in Gods hands ….you both have been living proof God is there through the storms of life and now you are to be parents giving you even more insights into the heart of God!!! Sooooo happy for you both…words arent enough at times like this and thats something coming from me lol!
God bless you both on this exciting new chapter 🙂
N X


Leave a Reply

