jump to navigation

Recovery: Day 6 30th November, 2011

Posted by Scotty in Cancer, Life, Me, Pain.
trackback

So, yesterday was a slow day, mostly spent at home tired after an almost non-existent-sleep night on Monday night.  But overall, the day wasn’t too bad.  I ate lots of food and drank lots of fluid and had a couple of impromptu but deep naps.

On the advice of some friends, I phoned the Doc yesterday to get them to subscribe me some acid-reflux meds seeing as that was keeping me from sleeping.  They were more than happy too and a little surprised that I hadn’t already been given some since it’s a typical side-effect from the steroids.  So, armed with my new acid-reflux pills, a bottle of Gaviscon, and 10 pillows behind me so that I slept pretty much upright all night… I slept most of the way through the night.  I had to get up a couple of times to get a wee drink or use the toilet but for the most part I slept through from 12am-6am.  Small victory.

Yesterday was the last day on the steroids for this round and I have two days left on the anti-sickness meds, so hopefully I should see the side-effects start to drop off and normal sleeping/eating patterns return.

This week is head-shave week!  At some point between now and Friday I’m going to shave my head in prep for the whole hair fallout thing that’ll happen in a week or two.  I’m considering having a little bit of fun with it and getting some fun designed shave in.  Any excuse to do something a bit fun and crazy, eh?

Comments»

1. Elton Pacheco - 30th November, 2011

Hi Scott,

I just stumbled over your blog. I’m so proud to see you fighting! My cousin in Brazil has cancer and she just started her chemio. She’s been struggling a lot, but I’m sure you both are going to get healthy and stronger than before. I know it may sound weird, because we don’t know each other, but I just wanted to send your way some love and good vibes.

Scotty - 30th November, 2011

Thanks Elton,
I appreciate your kind words. Sorry I hear about your cousin, let her know that a stranger all the way over in Scotland is praying that her body fights hard with minimal upset from side effects. Holy Spirit strength and endurance being prayed her way.

Scotty
<

2. Nicola - 30th November, 2011

Think a designer head shave is a neat idea bro….how about a dragon??? 🙂 xxx

3. Sharon O - 30th November, 2011

A design shave? oh my … will have to see that one.


Leave a Reply

