jump to navigation

I am a Prostitute Refugee 14th July, 2011

Posted by Scotty in Fun, Life, Ministry.
trackback

Photo © Sophia Ruth

Back in Scotland is a 14 year old kid whom I love with every ounce of my being.  This particular kid has had a really rough life and has suffered more loss and heart ache than anyone else I know.  I’ve known him since he was born and have had a soft spot for him his entire life.  As a result of what he’s gone through he is in full-time residential care where he receives special attention and education to help deal with his behavioural issues.

When I returned from the States I felt really strongly that I should invest time and love into him… hoping to be able to bless him with God’s love.  And what a blessing it has been… to me.  God has showed me so much of his heart through this relationship.

Around Christmas time I went on a field trip with him and some staff at his school.  As we were standing beside and ice-rink, he came over and excited told the staff that care for him that I am the refugee that he’d been telling them about.  I stood looking puzzled as I tried to work out what he was talking about… until I realized he meant “reverend”.

refugee/reverend… Not quite the same thing.

But we got a few good laughs out of it.

A couple of weeks ago I was spending some time with him on his birthday.  Part way through the day he we explaining to his staff worker some details about me.  He suddenly turned around and in a half-statement-half-question way said: “my gran said you’re not Catholic??”  I listened attentively and then agreed.  “So you’re a prostitute then?” he asked.

I laughed so hard

(while someone else explained to him that the word he was looking for was “protestant”)

prostitute/protestant… Not quite the same thing

So, back in Scotland is a 14 year old kid whom I, the prostitute refugee, love with every ounce of my being.

The joys of ministry.

Comments»

1. Single Dad - 14th July, 2011

Kids in care need all the love they can get – keep up the good work !

But also try and do something about stopping kids like him getting into care in the first place by preventing the circumstances which caused it to happen.

Scotty - 14th July, 2011

Hey there. Yeah, there are so many kids just like him that need so much love. I just hope and pray more people would reach out and invite them into their lives.

I wish I could do way more, but sadly, sometimes the circumstances that leave them in the care system are outwith our control. That’s definitely the case with this kid. And in many respects, being there is much better for him than where he would be. I’m just hoping and praying that he will break the pattern that’s been set.

2. Sue Swihart Bastiani - 18th July, 2011

Oh my goodness…what a story Scotty! Just awesome…So thankful to God that you are showing this boy some unconditional love that could change his whole life! Tell him “hi” from an old Oregon Gran!
xoxo Sue


Leave a Reply

