jump to navigation

We’re here??? 25th October, 2010

Posted by Scotty in Family, Life, Travel.
trackback

We’re here.  I’ve waited 4 years and 2 months for this… we made it back safely.  The flights were uneventful, our luggage arrived with no hitches, we squeezed four people and six bags into my parent’s tiny car, and headed for my parent’s house.  It feels so “normal” to be here.  I’ve travelled back and forward so much over the last few years that I’m used to transitioning from one to the other.   (My parents live in the coastal town Irvine (pronounced “ir-vin” not “ir-vine” like the place in CA), about an hour from Glasgow where we’ll be living and working… pics…)

It’s fun being back around the family.. although I’m constantly being made fun of for my American accent and vocabulary.  I have to break all the habits I’ve forced myself to learn so I can go back to talking like a normal person.

It is crazy to think we’re here for a while.  It feels like every other time I’ve come home for a short visit.  When I went to Israel in 2007 I left Portland for 9 months (home for summer, semester in Israel, home for Christmas, then back to the States)… so I’m used to being gone for a while.  I reckon it’ll take a couple of months to realise this is permanent and for my Portland-homesickness to set in.

I’ll tell you what though… it feels good to hear Scottish accents, eat curry, and hear all the phrases I’m supressed for the last 4 years.  And it’s great to see the faces I haven’t seen in over 14 months… some of them in 3 or 4 years.

What a fun life to sign up for: Always leaving people you love to go to people you love. 

Can’t wait to see what God has in store.

Comments»

1. Sharon O - 25th October, 2010

The pictures are beautiful. so glad you arrived safely.


Leave a Reply

