jump to navigation

Wedding: Groomsman 29th July, 2009

Posted by Scotty in Life.
trackback

I feel like the luckiest man alive.  Not only am I about to marry the most amazing woman, but standing up there with me will be some of the greatest men alive.  I want to take a little time each day this week to give a shout out to each of my groomsmen and tell you a little bit about why I think they’re so great….

Michael Badriaki

Michael BadriakiI met Michael at Seminary, although I have a hard time remembering how exactly we first started talking.  I can remember seeing him around the Seminary before he was a student, and being drawn to him, but our paths never seemed to cross.  Our friendship kicked off big time when he was a student in a class I was the Teaching Fellow for.  Michael had taken ill and been in hospital and fallen behind on his work, and so I did what I could to help him get back on top of things.

We soon discovered that we had a lot in common.  For one, we’re both international students who can identify with one another’s frustrations about America and American Christianity.  Michael is from Uganda which has huge political ties with Britain, and amazingly the countries have a lot in common.  It has been a blessing to have someone like Michael around, who understands me (and gets my jokes!).  We’re both very passionate lovers of music and I think it sealed the deal on our friendship when I introduced him to a bunch of lesser known but talented Christian Artists.

Michael is an amazing guy with a tremendous amount of compassion and joy.  When he’s around it’s impossible not to smile when he smiles.  His love for me is so uplifting and I thank God for the way it grew in such a short amount of time.  I have loved spending time going to coffee with him, pouring out my heart and hearing his, ranting about ministry and the state of the Church, talking about needs in the world and ways to solve them.  It’s a friendship built upon mutual encouragement–I just have to think about Michael to feel encouraged by him!

He has been a huge support to me over this last year in particular, coming alongside me in my pain and praising God with me in it!  It’s been an added blessing that Mon and I gel really well with both Michael & Kirsten and we’ve spend many amazing nights chilling with them (along with Andrew & Anna, who also rock!).

Michael, you are more than a brother.  Roll on Uganda!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

