jump to navigation

Wedding: Groomsman 28th July, 2009

Posted by Scotty in Life.
trackback

I feel like the luckiest man alive.  Not only am I about to marry the most amazing woman, but standing up there with me will be some of the greatest men alive.  I want to take a little time each day this week to give a shout out to each of my groomsmen and tell you a little bit about why I think they’re so great….

Colin Wyenberg

Colin WyenbergFive years ago when I first heard about Multnomah I went online and downloaded their catalogue/prospectus.  I thumbed through the pages and was struck by a couple of pictures of a young good looking trendy guy reading his Bible.  I remember looking at the picture and taking it downstairs to my mum saying “Look, at last I’ve found a Bible college who churn out people who are cool”.  I’d been used to seeing pictures of old bearded men in cardigans.  It wasn’t till after Colin and I were friends and I was looking through the catalogue that I realized he was the guy I’d seen in the pic.

My admissions counselor told me to go talk to Colin one day to show him my red shoes.  For some reason, I did.  Then every week I would pop by the admissions department to talk to the staff and would end up sitting on Colin’s desk talking while he worked.  It’s amazing how a friendship can develop by seeing someone a few times a week for just 10 mins.

I went through a season of intense Spiritual Attack at the beginning of my second semester and was encouraged to find that Colin would experience Spiritual Attack in the same way.  He prayed for me, and told me he would continue to pray for me.  I left our conversation thoroughly encouraged.

Colin and I have a lot of fun when we’re together.  We hang out and act like kids.  It’s fun having a bud to clown around with, jumping through fountains and going to kids toy stores.  I love too that amidst the clowning around most of our conversations are deep and open, sharing the good and bad of life and praying for one another.

I’ve always been impressed with Colin’s attitude towards prayer.  He’s one of those guys who I know is regularly praying for me.  I remember being in his office one day when an alarm went off on his computer and the letters PFS poppsed up.  It stands for “Pray for Scott”, and was during one of the most trying weeks of my time in the States.  What an amazing support!  I should really pay him counseling rates.  So often I walk across campus and plop myself down on his desk.  He’ll ask me just the right question to probe at something and the next thing I know I’m offloading a weeks worth of frustration to him.  He listens, encourages me, uplifts me, and then… I leave.  HaHa.

He’s been an amazing friend to me since I got here and I can’t wait till me and my wife are hosting him and his wife in Scotland!!!

I love you Colin, thanks for allowing me to invade your life.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

