jump to navigation

Home for Christmas 17th December, 2008

Posted by Scotty in Life.
trackback

It’s always a good feeling to be home!

The flight was fairly non-eventful, with the exception of a moment sitting at the departure gate at Newark airport when a short Asian air hostess announced that “we will shortly start boarding flight CO016 to Glasgow, England“.  The crowd was in uproar and quickly put her in her place.  It was rather amusing.  A woman shouted above the noise “you can say London, Scotland… but you can’t say Glasgow, England”.  The poor air hostess had no idea what she’d just done and quickly passed the mic of to her colleague!

brisingrOther than that, I spent the entire time reading, getting myself through 650 pages of Brisingr.  I love children’s fiction… and what a treat to escape the busyness of a semester by riding on the back of a dragon on a quest to save the world from the clutches of Galbatorix, the Dragon-Rider-Gone-Wrong.  What a big kid I am.

But now that I’m back, I’ve enjoyed a lot of sleep!  Last night, I left Glasgow early, fairly exhasuted, got home by 5.30pm, was in bed by 9.30pm… and didn’t wake up till 3.30pm today.  I feel gooooood!

It was great to get to visit Our Lady of the Assumption and St Meddans Church in Troon where I often do my concerts, and to get caught up with many of my friends and supporters from there.  Then I jumped in the train up to Glasgow to get to Re:Hope.  I realized for the umpteenth time that I don’t fully feel like I’m “home” until I set foot in that church which has been (and still is)  such a huge part of my life.

home-sweet-home-signI know that each semester when I get home I have grown a lot through the experiences and the learning, but likewise, the church has grown.  I love coming home and seeing the differences, most notably this time, the size of the church!  It is three times the size it was last time I was home!  The demographic has expanded a little, the worship team have matured and tightened, and Brian’s preaching has grown…

Yesterday (Tuesday) I spent the day in Glasgow, attending the Re:Hope staff meeting, and then spending the afternoon hanging out with my friend and mentor, Brian.  Again, I see the growth as the team seems more focussed, each member of staff better equipped and more sure of their role.  Brian  and I spent the afternoon together, where I got to share with him some of my oberservations as we debriefed our “semester” and I checked-in about the events of the last few months.

I love being home… I love being in the place where I believe God wants me to minister when I’m done at Multnomah.  I love being around my mentor who, without fail, God always uses to encourage me, challenge me, and refresh me.

I’m excited to be home.
I can’t wait for Mon to get here.
I look forward to catching up with all my friends.
And I’m excited as my final semester quickly approaches!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

