jump to navigation

Sense of Wonder 6th April, 2008

Posted by Scotty in Blessings, Books, Heart, Spirituality, Worship.
trackback

By and large, our world has lost it’s sense of wonder

Peter Pan\'s expression of wonder My friend Joe and are I reading through The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning, and this sentence in the opening paragraphs of chapter 5 stated something I have been noticing a lot recently. In our world of knowledge, where we can jump on the internet and find out the reasoning behind almost all of our everyday occurences we have lost our ability to be filled with wonder.

We live in a day and age where the unknown scares us. We feel uneasy when we enter a conversation about things we are not sure about, and when it comes to God, we define and describe, and try to fit Him into the intellectual boxes in our mind, scared to look at God and not know the answers!

Manning writes:

We get so preoccupied with ourselves, the words we speak, the plans and projects we conceive that we become immune to the glory of creation. We barely notice the cloud passing over the moon or the dewdrops clinging to the rose leaves. The ice on the pond comes and goes. the wild blackberries ripen and wither. The blackbird nests outside our bedroom window. We don’t see her. We avoid the cold and the heat. We refrigerate ourselves in the summer and entomb ourselves in plastic in winter. We rake up ever leaf as fast as it falls. We are so accustomed to buying prepackaged meats and fish that we never think and blink about the bounty of God’s creation. We grow complacent and lead practical lives. We miss the experience of awe, reverence, and wonder.

Have you noticed this? As a cloud passes over the moon we barely blink because we know about the rain cycle and the wind blowing the clouds. We get annoyed at the blackbird singing at our window because she’s distracting us from our “peace and quiet” of internet, emails, tv, and text messages. We fail to enjoy the amazing gift of the rain because it softens our gel, or makes the hair we spent hours straightening go frizzy.

I don’t know about you, but I want to be someone who lives everyday in the presence of God. Question: How do we live in the presence of the living God? Answer: In wonder, amazed by the traces of God all around us. This is how we become people who live in an attitude of continual worship. We acknowledge that there is more to God than we can ever understand, and enjoy the mysteries He reveals on a daily basis. I get excited knowing that I will be able to spend every day of eternity finding out something new about God and still never know it all! What a joy! What peace I have as I rest in the ineffible!

After talking with Joe about this book I enjoyed a 10 minute stroll down to the bus stop in the rain. I found myself quietly singing the words of one of the most famous hymns realising how many times I have sung it without realizing the full extent of the words:

Oh Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder
consider all the works thy hands hath made
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder
thy power throughout the universe displayed

Then sings my soul my Saviour God to thee
how great thou art, how great thou art
Then sings my soul my Saviour God to thee
how great thou art, how great thou art

Let me paraphrase them to change the way you read them:

Oh God, when in wonder I stop think about all the things you have made, I look up and soak in the stars, I listen to the booming thunder and as I do, I see your power revealed throughout the universe. And here is my response: My soul sings to you my God and saviour, because it helps me see how amazing you are.

How are you doing in the area of wonder? Are you noticing God in the Creation around you? Are you allowing Him to speak through what He’s made, through scenery, by watching animals at play, through the people around you, the things you watch and listen to? Do you want to be someone who lives life enjoying the wonder of a child through the eyes of an adult?

Chapter 5 of the Ragamuffin Gospel finishes with the following prayer that Joe and I both ended up reading over several times as God prodded our hearts through this chapter. May it bless you as it blessed us:

Dear Lord, grant me the grace of wonder. Surprise me, amaze me, awe me in every crevice of your universe. Delight me to see how your Christ plays in ten thousand places, lovely in limbs, and lovely in eyes not his, to the Father through the features of men’s faces. Each day enrapture me with your marvelous things without number. I do not ask to see the reason for it all; I ask only to share the wonder of it all.

Comments»

1. justingunter - 8th April, 2008

Good blog friend! I like how the blackbird, which we would only ever call a “crow” over here was unashamedly, [“female”] annoying us.” Haha. Good thoughts though…very good! You know I’m a poetic one, and so clouds and simple God created nuances and the like, drifting in and out of the passing winds, in and amidst the of the cosmic light-switch that shows off every day for all to see…yep, pretty dang breathtaking…IF we slow down and let it be what it truly is!

God be honored in your entry my friend! Love ya.

2. Katie - 15th April, 2008

I would have to agree with Justin on this one. We do tend to lose our sense of wonder nowadays with so much “stuff” in our lives. I do have to catch myself not wondering about clouds in the sky and all creation that God has put on this earth. I have to stop and just be still; I have always stood in utter amazement about who we are as people and that God put us here for a reason and he put everything here on earth for a reason.

My days can be consumed with so much “stuff” that sometimes it doesn’t feel I am in the presence of God. My wish for myself is to clear all that “stuff” and have all my days be “God Centered”. I can’t wait to see how that first day will be.

Let’s not forget to always be in a “Sense of Wonder” because I still want to be a “Little Child”.


Leave a Reply

