jump to navigation

The Bible Experience 6th February, 2008

Posted by Scotty in Bible.
trackback

I am so excited about this! Before Christmas I stumbled across The Bible Experience online. It’s a pretty awesome audio bible. For years now I have wanted an audio Bible. I have this crazy idea that if I can immerse myself in God’s Word, I will learn it well, and my life will change to line up with how God says I should live my life. I want to be someone who is known for his obedience to God’s Word. Driving back and forth between Ayr and Glasgow I had plenty of good Bible time that was wasted on driving, and so I wanted an audio Bible so I could “read” the Bible while I drove.

A couple of years ago I downloaded the King James audio bible, because it was free, but I found myself lost in its old words and strange grammar. I have had my eye out for a while, and this is the first time I’ve come across a “dramatic reading”. The Bible Experience includes some “big names” like Denzel Washington, Samuel L. Jackson, and Blair Underwood (who does Jesus really well!) and rather than just reading uses music and sound effects under the main text to draw you in to the story.

I ordered it when I arrived in the States and it arrives a few days ago. I have since listened through most of Genesis, and am really enjoying being able to hear the Word, because I hear different thing from what I see as I read. Also, because of the inflection used when it’s read, it draws your attention to different nuances of the sentences. So… I’ll give you the verdict as I go, but so far… I love it! It’s exciting to be able to hear God’s word as I walk home from Seminary or as I drive to church. I pray that God will give me fresh insights in His word, and use this tool to deepen my understanding of who He is.

Comments»

1. Jon Wilke - 7th February, 2008

Scotty, I’m really glad you like your audio Bible. I just wanted to let you and your readers know that they can download a free dramatized New Testament in one or all of the 10 English versions from FaithComesByHearing.com. This ministry also has Audio Bibles available in more than 275 languages for free.


Leave a Reply

