jump to navigation

God and Luggage! 10th September, 2007

Posted by Scotty in Bible, Blessings, JUC.
trackback

I love the Bible! One of the things I love most about it is how it constantly adapts to suit my life-situation. Every time I do readthrough there are different things that jump out at me. And this week I had another one of those moments where a Scripture took on a whole new meaning to me

“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?” Matt 6:28-10

22668573.jpgI have never pictured myself to be without clothes. It one of those things that we take for granted so often. How many times have you stopped to thank God that you’re wearing clothes? Well, we’re fast approaching the 2 week mark in my semester in Israel and I am still without my luggage. It was frustrating arriving at the airport and not seeing my bags come off the conveyer belt, but never for a moment did I think God would use that to enlighten me further.

When I arrived in Jerusalem I quickly went out and bought some of the essentials, extra underwear, some toiletries, etc. But instantly on finding out I had no luggage one friend Zac was quick to offer me some shorts to wear (I had a spare t-shirt). The following day Nate walks into my room and sits some trousers a t-shirt and some shoes on my bed. a day or so later Ben drops of 3 days worth of shorts and t-shirts… and one at a time all the guys on campus come to offer me their wardrobe: “just go in and help yourself to anything you need”. I am thankful.

So, a couple of days ago as I sat out in the garden reading Matthew’s gospel, I was deeply moved by these two verses that I had paid so little attention to in the past. Here I am, without clothes and yet God is providing through the people around me. It’s turned out to be a lot of fun experimenting with people’s styles, and has proven a good way to get to know the guys better. I have learned another lesson in trusting God.

Here was me all worried and annoyed about losing my bag, yet God had it perfectly orchestrated to reveal to me another aspect of His provision. Is it coincidence that the majority of the guys on campus are the same measurements as me? I certainly don’t think so!

God provides, and His Word is there to remind us of that! I thank God for providing for me to be here, and for providing for me since I arrived! May we always be quick to acknowledge His hand at work, and to thank Him for His provision.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

