jump to navigation

It feels like a dream 2nd September, 2007

Posted by Scotty in Jerusalem, JUC, Travel.
trackback

Honestly. I feels like a dream. I’m in Jerusalem?! I sleep in a room that sits right on the wall of the city. I lie at night on the roof talking with people and looking at the sky King David would have looked out at when watching the sheep, or the sky that Jesus and His disciples would have sat together looking at. I find myself regularly reminding myself that I’m going to be here until Christmas. It feels like I’m on holiday and should be leaving to go home soon.

scavengerhunt.jpg

We had a scavenger hunt in the Old City of Jerusalem during the day. We were given a list of things to photograph and sent off in groups, which gave us a great chance to get to know the other people while creating an opportunity to explore the city, get lost and find our way back out again.   It was a competition, and being the good humble Scotsman I am… WE WON!  lol.

The evening found us touring the New City (the Old City is the walled-in part).  Mon and I had already done that the first day here when, upon loosing our luggage, we had to roam around and try to find some clothes and toiletries to tide us over till they arrived.  They aren’t here yet, but I’m hoping the will be here tomorrow morning.

The people on campus are great.  I have had people ask my on several occasions “Why are you grinning?”.  And each time it’s been as I’ve looked round the room and thanked God for how great the people are who are here.   It’s fun getting to know them, and fun being “Scott from Scotland” all over again.  It seems to be the way I’m referred to every time I head to a new country.  It’ll wear off soon though.

The campus here is beautiful.  I would stick up photos but I haven’t taken any, and so instead, I’ll direct you to the pictures on the school website… www.juc.edu.  It’s a total priveledge to be here having this experience.

I had my first class today, which was a field trip around the city looking at topography of the city and its surroundings, and some of the key places within the city walls.  I can tell that this trip is going to be something I’ll draw on for the rest of my life.

I thank God so much for letting me be here, and I’m so thankful for all the love and support I have that pays for this trip.  (Please be praying that our luggage arrives soon so that we can get settled in and be a bit more comfortable without having to borrow clothes from the other people on campus).

Comments»

1. Daniel - 3rd September, 2007

The shop keeper in the background looks like a funny and welcoming man, any stories about him Scott?

2. nathan - 4th September, 2007

ttttttttttttttttttttttttttthhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeiiiiiiiiiiissssssssssss fffffffffffffuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.


Leave a Reply

