jump to navigation

Concert #2 29th August, 2007

Posted by Scotty in Life.
trackback

images1.jpgConcert #2 was great, and as always God had a lesson in it for me to learn.

I decided to do this concert differently than my usual way.  Instead of being an extremely formal classical concert, I put on an I-could-be-performing-in-the-living-room concert.  I grabbed a couple of friends who sang some of their own songs and covers of well known pop tunes, and I opted for predominately Show Tunes.

I was nervous at first as I was watching people arrive, because… not many people were arriving.  I had no idea what to expect because I’ve never put on a concert in Glasgow, and most of my “following” come from the Ayrshire area.  As I got ready to go on I was struck by the huge contrast between my classical concerts with their formality and a building packed full by two or three hundred people, and this really informal feel and an audience of less than a quarter of that size.

But I decided to make the most of it, and as I allowed myself to imagine I was sitting in my house messing around on the piano to a living room full of guests, I was instantly at ease.  It felt really intimate, and allowed me more of an opportunity to chat with the audience between songs giving me ample time to share parts of my story.

Musically, it went really well.  I was happy with the way I played and sung, and had great feedback from everyone who was there.  But it wasn’t till I got to the end of the concert that God taught me a lesson about His ways being far superior to mine.

It’s amazing how much we put stock in our ability to do things.  I had put a lot of hope in the concert in Troon and it’s ability to provide a lot of the necessary finances and was a little disappointed when it didn’t make as much as the last few concert had done.  As 40 or 50 people poured into Re:Hope I decided not to worry about the fact not many people were there, because no matter how small an amount… it all adds up.  But it wasn’t until the end of the concert and everyone had left that I was handed the money from the evening and it far exceeded what I made at the concert down in Troon.

I was amazed.  Here was me operating in my strength, thinking I needed a lot of people to turn up to raise the necessary funds, when God had chosen to work in a different way and inspire a small handful of people to give significant contributions.  I left pretty humbled by the experience.  Again disappointed in my worldliness, but rejoicing in God’s provision.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

