jump to navigation

I’m back 5th June, 2007

Posted by Scotty in Church, Friends, Me.
trackback

Wow.  It’s a lot of fun to be back.  It’s a little surreal because it feels like I’ve never been away and yet at the same time there’s a “gap” from missing the friends God has blessed me with in Portland.  The first week was difficult getting over the initial shock of going from living with my friends and having them there 24-7 to being on my own.  But as soon as I stepped foot in church on Sunday I was grinning from ear to ear.

I hadn’t realised how much I missed it till I got back.  Re:Hope has been such a huge part of my life over the last few years and so naturally it feels great to be back.  It was overwhelming seeing everyone again, and then being at the staff meeting on Tuesday was exciting hearing all the things that are happening and seeing how things have grown since I left.

It’s been a really encouraging experience for me to come back and slot back into the team, and then to have the time to be able to serve the church effectively again.  It has been a hard year having to prioritize school over so many of the things I love to do, but God called me to school and so I had to do my best and make Him proud!

There’s something amazing about when people know you well.  Instantly I have found myself facing new tasks and challenges that are going to test my new skills and knowledge, as well as using the new levels of faith that have developed over the year.  I look at some of the things I have on the radar and know that a year ago I would not have had the ability to do them, and so it continues to emphasize God’s hand in me going to Multnomah.

I’m excited to watch how the summer unfolds, and the things God will do in the time that I’m back.  Nothing we do matters unless God is in it.  Our abilities mean nothing unless His Spirit is at work.  I thank Him with my whole heart that our church is a place where the people love Him – being passionate about his Word and excited to pray – and where they love one another.

It’s good to be back.

Comments»

1. theycallmepastorbryan - 7th June, 2007

Enjoy the summer bro! It’s good to be able to spend time with people you have known for a long time and get to reconnect with your home church. Take time to just enjoy people and to thank God.

I know you’re probably doing that already, but hey it never hurts to have a reminder!

2. Joseph Garibay - 8th June, 2007

Glad you made it back safe! Things are cool in Portland but it’s not the same not being able to go to MBC! Be blessed man : )


Leave a Reply

