jump to navigation

18th November, 2006

Posted by Scotty in Books, Prayer.
trackback

Dallas Willard - the Divine ConspiracyFor my Spiritual Formation class, I had to read Dallas Willard’s The Divine Conspiracy. There were loads of things in there tha God spoke to me through… particularly hitting the issues of prayer, and worship. Here’s two of the things that challenged me in the area of prayer:

“He teaches us how to be in prayer what we are in life and how to be in life what we are in prayer” (Chapter 6, p195)

Here is something I had really never thought about! Why is there a difference between the way people are in prayer, and the way people are in life? Both should be the same! I can see this dualism in my life, not necessarily in a negative way. I have moments in prayer or worship or ministry (etc) where I am “more holy” because the occasion is more spiritual, that is, areas where I am more focussed on worshipping and communicating with my God. My heart should be the same in normal mundane aspects of life, as they are in my times with God… worship is a 24-7 thing!

“Thus this spiritual love will speak to Christ about a brother more than to a brother about Christ.” (Chapter 7, p237).

I feel particularly challenged by this Bonhoeffer quote. It caused me to reflect on a few of my relationships both at home and here at Multnomah, where I have not been faithful in regularly bringing my friends before the Lord. Over the last 2 years God has been challenging me in the area of prayer, and so this adds another dimension to God’s challenge to me. It is even more pertinent here in Seminary, when I spent a huge amount of time talking about God with friends – I should seek to increase the amount of time I spent speaking to Him about them. It can be easy for me to pray for people when I know there is something significantly wrong, or when there is tension in a relationship, but I often allow the relationships to be self-standing. I feel that I should evaluate the relationships that I have, and ensure that they are centred in Christ.

“In the life of prayer we are training for, we reign in harmonious union with the infinite power of God” (p250).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

