jump to navigation

Heart in Worship 31st October, 2006

Posted by Scotty in Heart.
trackback

worship

I have been doing some thinking about worship, stemming from a worship session I was at the other day. I woke up on Thursday and had a great time with God. I am having a great time here, and feeling that my relationship with God is in great shape.

I arrived at our Chapel time filled with joy, where they opened with Psalm 88, and then proceeded with really depressing songs and readings. I was suddenly faced with a dilemma…

I have been to many worship times when I’ve been feeling down, and the Spirit of worship is one of joy and thanksgiving… and I make an effort to push through the current state of feeling, to get to a place of praise. Swallowing how bad I feel, and turning my sorrow into joy. Those worship times are awesome, because you have to take all your troubles, lay them at his feet, and praise Him for His love, promises and provision.

This time was odd for me. What is the answer in the other situation? When I am filled with joy, should I become depressed in order to enter the Spirit of worship, or do I not enter into the Spirit of worship, and remain the way I am, full of that joy and praise? It comes down to the Heart of the Worship. Is it my perogative to be united with the other worshippers, or to be aware of my relationship with God? Should I enter into the Spirit of worship, or protect my heart and rejoice?

I don’t have the answers… I’m still chewing this over. On the day in question I grabbed my journal, and spent time with God alone, but alongside those around me. I prayed for those who were broken, I praised for God for the joy I was feeling, and I wrestled with this concept. Should I enter into the mood of the people around me, or should I come to God where I am? Is it about the people around, or is it about Him? Is it divisive to come on my own?

When I left the room, I left confused, saddened, and brought down. It has made me extra aware of the idea of wholistic worship that God is teaching me about. In a contemplative worship time, I should be making sure that it concludes in an uplifting way.  It should be a time to come to God, to bring your sorrows to Him, but to be uplifted and freed.

As for the heart of worship, it’s about being with God, while loving the people around you.  Sometimes that is entering in, and sometimes that is in doing as I did, and coming on my own, and praying for those around me.  I do think it was wrong to leave it on a low note.  We’ll see…!

Comments»

1. Mark - 2nd November, 2006

ooh. Now you’ve got my mind active. Gonna have to go get my journal now.

I see what your saying though.

“As for the heart of worship, it’s about being with God, while loving the people around you. Sometimes that is entering in, and sometimes that is in doing as I did, and coming on my own, and praying for those around me.”

I don’t think you should sing something that you don’t feel, or mean. I your having an amazing time with God, you don’t want to be singing depressing songs – use that time to pray for the people who are going through the storm.

Make sense?
Mark


Leave a Reply

