jump to navigation

BibleReadthrough – Colossians 28th August, 2006

Posted by Scotty in Bible.
trackback

The 3 things that jumped out at me in Colossians were:

  1. BibleReadthrough - ColossiansCol 2:6-7
    “continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.”

    Does my life overflow with thankfulness?  When people look at me do they see someone who is thankful?  I have grown to describe worship as a response to God moving in my life, but also as an overflow of the thankfulness in my heart as a result.  Do I moan about life, or do I live a thankful one?

    Our lives should be OVERFLOWING with thankfulness.  When we allow this to happen, our passion is contageous, and people desire what we have.  They see a God that is worth loving.

  2. Col 3:1
    “set your heart on things above”

    I regularly have ‘heart-check’ moment when reading.  God plops things into my mind and says, does this picture look like your heart.  This verse was a heart-check moment for me.  Where is my heart set?  Is it set on worldy things, or is it set on Earthly things.  When I stop trusting God, I start worrying about money, about relationships, about my future… but when my heart is set on things above I joyfully endure hard times.

    This whole journey accross the sea has been a big step of faith.  God is teaching me to be dependent on Him, and that is only going to happen if my heart is set on Him.

  3. Col 3:22-23
    “slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favour, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord.  Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord.”

    It’s easy to think this verse isn’t important because we no longer live in the age of slavery, but these verses so easily transfer to the likes of employee-employer relationships.  This verse always hits me hard in the area of integrity.  Integrity is so often described as “doing the right thing”, but it’s more than that… it’s “doing the right thing even when noone is looking”.

    I am guilty in my last job of having a bad attitude at times towards my boss, and allowing that to bleed into the quality of my work.  I failed to “work for the Lord”, and as 3:1 says, took my eyes of what is above!

    I pray that everything I do will be done for Him.  That God will continue to grow me to be a man of integrity, <i>especially</i> in those moments where no-one is around.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

