jump to navigation

Unwell = Ungrateful 12th July, 2006

Posted by Scotty in Life, Me, Prayer.
trackback

Sick Duck

I’m ill! I hate being ill! It’s quite often a sign for me that I’m overdoing it. I end up over-tired, so my body can’t fight it off. I don’t get sick that often either, but for the last 3 days it ain’t been good.

It’s a wierd kinda ill though. I wake up all choked up – blocked nose and stuff, but as the day goes on it gets worse and worse… sore throat, sore head, high temperature, blocked nose and runny nose (at the same time!?)…

So, why am I writing this? Well, whenever I am unwell I remember something… I remember how ungrateful I am for having full health. It’s one of those, I’ve-grown-to-expect-it-so-I-don’t-thank-God-for-it type things. So as I sit here working (I should probably be in bed), I’m overcome with thankfulness for my illness.

Father, I thank you that I get ill to remind me to thank him for when I’m well. I get ill to remind me to pray for multitudes of people across the world who don’t feel great today because they are ill too. You allow me to get ill to test me, to see if I’ll praise you for this, or if I’ll moan because ‘I’m too good to be ill’. I lift up all the sick people across the globe and ask that you draw near to them today. I love you.

So, like Job does, I shall praise God in my sickbed. May his name be exalted!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

