jump to navigation

House Hunting in Birmingham 20th August, 2013

Posted by Scotty in Life.
trackback

Forgive me for the serious lack of blogging over the past months.  It’s been a very busy time between the reading and assignments for my degree, the fundraising, and preparing to move.  Now that things are settling again, I’m looking forward to diving back into the blogging world to share all the things God’s been showing me.

We live in Birmingham (England)!?!?!

On Thursday 8th we loaded up a van.
On Friday 9th I drove it to Birmingham (5hrs), unloaded it, and drove back to Glasgow to spend our last night there.
On Saturday 10th we cleaned the flat and moved out.
We spent a couple of days with my parents, then
On Tuesday 13th, we moved to Birmingham!

Today is a week since we arrived in Brum.  We are staying with a wonderful couple, Tom & Judi, who offered to house us while we search for a place of our own.  They have been outstanding hosts!

We’ve spent the week recovering from the move, viewing houses, meeting our team, and familiarising ourselves with our new stomping ground.  We have a BBQ tomorrow evening where we’ll meet the rest of the people who serve the Birmingham area with The Navigators, and then this coming weekend is a conference where we’ll meet the rest of the staff from around the UK.

We have a lot of work to do in the coming weeks as we continue to house hunt, fundraise, plan curriculum for the coming year, spent time with the team, as well as familiarising ourselves with the area.

We’d appreciate your prayers as we look for a house.  At the moment we have to choose between space and location.  We’re asking God to make a place available that has both!

We’re excited to be here, and ready to be put to use.

We are exactly where He wants us and excited to share the things He’s been teaching us.

arial-campus(Aerial picture of the University of Birmingham Campus)

 

Comments»

1. Sharon O - 20th August, 2013

wow that is awesome. Be safe and have fun in your new adventure.

2. Jeremy - 26th August, 2013

Hey Scotty, trying to get in touch with you. Don’t have a phone or computer, but if you send me your mailing address (and UK phone number) to jphelps@M********.edu account I will write you a letter. Love you and miss you! -Jeremy

3. Walter - 19th September, 2013

Your an amazing young man as I remember you from torranyard leisure club Irvine. I don’t know how I’ve managed to get your number on my new phone but obviously God has placed it there for a reason. The last couple of years I’ve been born again, baptised, joined mentoring group, life group, bible college, new career and on my journey in faith I’ve been cleaned of alcoholism, healed from HepC and liver cirrhosis and not to forget the many miracles God has shown me. It’s an amazing journey and I must say after reading your blogs I’m so inspired by your faith and worship of our lord and saviour. My daughter from a previous marriage lives near Birmingham and I would ask you to pray for her and her name is Jillian Dunnachie as she is lost in the world and needs to know Jesus. I hope your family have settled in Bingham and pray that God blessed you abundantly in all areas of your life, good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over. I heard a prayer report about your cancer from our church over a year ago being called out, weeks later a praise report that your wife was with child, what a great God we have. Amen Walter

4. michaelandrzejewski - 1st October, 2013

Praise the Lord for your new home and for God’s hand upon your lives. May He continue to pour out His blessings upon you as you make disciples who want to make other disciples too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,467 other followers

