jump to navigation

Sermon: The Necessity of Prayer 22nd June, 2010

Posted by Scotty in Prayer.
trackback

We just finished a short sermon series at Grace called Elemental.  Mike asked if I’d preach on prayer, and so I got to give my first topical sermon.  Almost all of my preaching experience and training has been expositional, where you study a passage, work out what it is saying and preach the content of the passage.  With topical preaching you pic a topic, then study what the Bible has to say about that topic and preach that.  I discovered that good topical preaching is much more difficult than normal expositional preaching.  Why?  In expositional preaching you study one passage inside out to extract the Truth to preach on it.  In topical preaching, you study multiple passage to extract the Truth and preach them all in a way that ties them together without distorting the Truth in each.

I realized I’ve never posted anything I’ve preached, so here’s the sermon.  Let me know what you think.

(direct link: http://scottburns.co.uk/audio/ScottBurns061310Prayer.mp3)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,471 other followers

